Workplace Harassment Guideline Issued By EEOC

Originally posted by

EEOC Offers Recommendations for Employers

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission recently issued Promising Practices for Preventing Harassment, a guidance document that features harassment prevention recommendations for employers in four broad categories:

  • Leadership and accountability;
  • Harassment policies;
  • Harassment complaint systems; and
  • Harassment training.

Under each of the four categories, the guidance lists numerous actions employers can take, such as:

  • Allocating sufficient resources for effective harassment prevention strategies;
  • Crafting an unequivocal statement that harassment based on, at a minimum, any legally protected characteristic is prohibited; and
  • Conducting regular, interactive, and comprehensive harassment prevention training for all employees.

The document states that while the practices it discusses are not legal requirements under federal employment discrimination laws, they may enhance compliance efforts.

To read the guidance document, click here.

All employers are required to take reasonable steps towards preventing harassment from occurring in the workplace. Our SEXUAL HARASSMENT POSTER is a supplementary tool to be used together with an implemented Sexual Harassment Policy which may include required routine training for covered employers.

Sexual harassment is a form of sex discrimination that violates Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

Next Article: What is Workplace Discrimination?

What is Workplace Discrimination?

Diversity Business People Coorporate Team Community ConceptAmong the most important laws that impact your workplace are nondiscrimination laws. The federal nondiscrimination laws prohibit discrimination throughout the course of the employee life cycle, including hiring and firing, promotions, pay, benefits and other terms and conditions of employment.

They include:

  • Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which prohibits discrimination in employment on the basis of:
    • Race and color;
    • Sex (including pregnancy, sexual orientation and gender identity);
    • Religion; and
    • National origin
  • The Equal Pay Act, which requires that men and women in the same workplace be given equal pay for equal work.
  • The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), which prohibits discrimination against qualified individuals with disabilities. The ADA also requires covered employers (those with 15 or more employees) to provide a reasonable accommodation to these qualified individuals, unless the accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the employer’s operations.
  • The Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA), which prohibits discrimination against individuals age 40 and older on the basis of their age. This law also has requirements related to the treatment of pension benefits for older workers. See the Older Workers Benefit Protection Act (OWBPA), which is part of the ADEA.
  • The Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), which prohibits discrimination against a person on the basis of past military service, current military obligations, or intent to serve. Many states also provide job-protected military leave.
  • The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act (GINA), which prohibits discrimination in employment based on genetic information.

[Note: Many states have similar laws prohibiting discrimination based on these classifications as well as disability and age, and against other protected classes.] 

Originally posted by