The state of Virginia now has a new minimum wage rate, effective May 1, 2021: $9.50/hr

A few weeks ago, there was a minor update to the Virginia Earned Income Tax notice (we covered it in this post: [LINK]). Now there is a new MANDATORY update to the Virginia state posters for labor law postings: the Virginia minimum wage rate increases to $9.50 per hour, effective May 1, 2021. Employees who receive tips plus wages must now receive Virginia’s minimum wage of $9.50 per hour, and training wages may be increased. Training wages applies to employees younger than 20 years of age and is restricted to the first 90 days of employment. Some employees who were previously exempt may now be considered eligible employees, such as employees in domestic service, home care providers, and babysitters who work more than 10 hours a week.
For more information on the wage laws, the notice links these websites:

You can purchase a standalone Viriginia & Federal combination poster here: https://www.allinoneposters.com/Virginia-Federal-Combo
Electronic version for remote employees (select your state): https://www.allinoneposters.com/Electronic-Poster
We also offer a compliance plan with coverage of up to 1, 2, of 3 years: https://www.allinoneposters.com/Subscription-Plans/Combination-State-Federal-Poster-Plans

One thought on “Virginia Update April 2021 (Minimum Wage)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s