Florida Miami-Dade County Update October 2021

The Florida Miami-Dade County Minimum Wage has been updated. Dates effective: October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2022

New Minimum WagePrevious Minimum Wage:
For County Contracts for Covered Services entered into BEFORE October 1, 2016: $14.25 per hour with qualifying health benefits of at least $2.04 per hour$14.10 per hour with qualifying health benefits of at least $2.04 per hour
$16.31 per hour (no qualifying health benefits)$16.14 per hour (no qualifying health benefits)
For Contractors of Covered Services entered into AFTER October 1, 2016:$14.03 per hour with qualifying health benefits of at least $3.57 per hour$13.88 per hour with qualifying health benefits of at least $3.57 per hour
$17.62 per hour (no qualifying health benefits)$17.45 per hour (no qualifying health benefits)

Employers located in Miami-Dade county must have up-to-date postings to stay in compliance or else risk getting fined during audits. City and County notices are NOT included on our state-wide posters or compliance plans, and must be purchased separately. The size of this poster is 11×17 inches.

Minimum Wage Increases for July 1, 2021

While January is the most common time for minimum wage increases in local and state ordinances to be released, many wage rates are scheduled to increase on July 1st as well. Below listed are the current state and local ordinances that will take effect starting July 1, 2021.

JurisdictionMinimum Wage Rate (PER HOUR)
District of Columbia$15.20
Nevada$9.75 (no health benefits); $8.75 (with health benefits)
Oregon$12, $12.75, or $14 depending on employer’s location
Berkeley, CA$16.32
Chicago, IL$14 (4-20 employees), $15 (21 or more employees)
Emeryville, CA$17.13
Fremont, CA$15 (<25 employees); $15.25 (>26 employees)
Los Angeles, CA$15
Malibu, CA$15
Milpitas, CA$15.65
Minneapolis, MN$12.50 (<100 employees); $14.25 (>100 employees)
Montgomery County, MD$13.50 (<10 employees), $14 (11-50 employees), $15 (>51 employees)
Pasadena, CA$15
Saint Paul, MN$10 (1-5 employees), $11 (6-100 employees) $12.50 (>101 employees)
San Francisco, CA$16.32
Santa Monica, CA$15
*Not a comprehensive list; check your local laws to confirm.

If you are an employer located in one of these cities or states, you are required to post updated notices with the new minimum wage rates according to State and Federal law. There may also be additional notice requirements based on your industry.

If you need to order labor law posters with the latest updates and revisions, you can find them on our website allinoneposters.com

City & County of San Francisco COVID-related Employment Protections

The City & County of San Francisco has released an official notice prohibiting employment discrimination because of COVID-19 status.

On March 7, 2021 a new protection ordinance prevents employers from discriminating against someone because of COVID-19 status.

Employers cannot try to fire or discipline an employee who needs to take time off work because they tested positive for COVID-19 or needs to quarantine because of COVID-19. This applies to job offers as well; employers cannot withdraw an offer to an applicant because they found out the person tested positive for COVID-19 or is quarantining due to exposure.

The ordinance is in effect until March 6, 2023.

You can read the official protections ordinance here from the government website and view the workplace poster.

Colorado 2021 State Updates; Denver City Update

The Colorado state minimum wage has increased for 2021. Additionally, a new notice was added to the posters for Healthy Families & Workplaces Act. The Colorado state minimum wage was increased to $12.32 per hour or $9.30 for tipped employees, effective January 1, 2021. It will increase again in 2022. Previously, in 2020, the minimum wage was $12.00 per hour or $8.98 for tipped employees.

Highlighted in pink are the two notices that were changed for 2021.
Continue reading “Colorado 2021 State Updates; Denver City Update”