Employers in 7 States Lose Exemption
The federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) recently announced that covered establishments in all states—including establishments in California, Maryland, Minnesota, South Carolina, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming—must electronically submit data from their 2017 OSHA Form 300A to OSHA by July 1, 2018. Previously, employers in those seven states were deemed exempt.
As a reminder, the following establishments—if currently required to comply with OSHA’s recordkeeping requirements—are required to electronically submit data from their 2017 Forms 300A to OSHA:
Click here to read the OSHA announcement. To submit your establishment’s data, click here.
Posted by HR360
Posted in cal-osha, california, calosha, Injury and Illness, maryland, minnesota, OSHA, South Carolina, utah, washington, wyoming
- Tagged illness, injury, osha, osha 300, osha 300a, recordkeeping, reporting
On January 1, 2018 all Saint Paul employers with employees working in Saint Paul must provide Earned Sick and Safe Time (ESST) to their employees.
ESST can be used for an employee’s absence from work due to illness, medical appointments, or critical safety issues, including domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking. All employees working in the City of Saint Paul, for employers located in the City of Saint Paul, are eligible for the benefit, including full time, part-time and temporary workers.
To read more about the ordinance, rules, and access the complaint form, you may visit this website: https://www.stpaul.gov/departments/human-rights-equal-economic-opportunity/contract-compliance-business-development/earned
English and Spanish posters can be downloaded from our list of additional and local notices here: http://www.allinoneposters.com/Specific-City-and-Industry-Notices
New State and Federal Combination Poster Available for Purchase at
The minimum wage rates in Minnesota will go up on August 1, 2016, according to the following schedule:
- Large employersmust pay at least $9.50 an hour (annual gross volume of sales made or business done of $500,000 or more);
- Small employersmust pay at least $7.75 an hour (annual gross volume of sales made or business done of less than $500,000);
- Thetraining wage rate is $7.75 an hour (90-day training rate paid to employees who are younger than 20 years of age); and
- Theyouth wage rate is $7.75 an hour (may be paid to employees younger than 18 years of age).
Note: In cases where an employee is subject to both the state and federal m
inimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher of the two minimum
A new state and federal combination poster reflecting the updated rates is available for purchase. Additional information regarding Minnesota’s minimum wage rates is available by clicking here.
Posted in minnesota, state
- Tagged 2016, allinone, compliance, dol, federal, hourlywage, labor, labor law, labor law poster, labor law posters, laborlawposter, law, minimum, minimum wage, minimumwage, osha, poster, poster updates, rights, state, wage and hour, wageandhour, wagehour, workplace
This Saturday, Minnesota’s minimum wage will rise to $9.00 per hour, making it one of the highest in the country, and the leader of the Midwest states. The bump is a result of the phase two implementation of the wage law Governor Mark Dayton signed in April of last year. The law mandated that wages rise to $8.00 in 2014, $9.00 in August of 2015, and $9.50 in August of 2016. Following the completion of stage three in 2016, wages moving forward will be adjusted as necessary to account for inflation.
These changes will only apply to employees working for qualifying large employers – businesses with an annual gross revenue of $500,000 or higher. Those working for smaller employers still fall under the protection of the federal minimum wage, currently at $7.25 per hour.
Posted in minnesota, state
- Tagged 2015, aio, allinone, dol, effective, hourlywage, laborlaw, minimumwage, minnesota, mn, poster, salary, wage, wagehour