California 2023 Minimum Wage FAQ

Last Updated: November 28, 2022

What is California’s current minimum wage rate?
Below is the schedule for California Minimum Wage rate, 2022-2023.
Some cities and counties have higher minimum wages than the state’s rate.

DateMinimum Wage for Employers with 25 Employees or LessMinimum Wage for Employers with 26 Employees or More
January 1, 2022$14.00/hour$15.00/hour
January 1, 2023$15.50/hour$15.50/hour

Is California’s Minimum Wage changing for 2023?
On July 27, 2022, the Director of the Department of Finance certified that based on the annual inflation rate from 7/1/21-6/30/22, under Labor Code section 1182.12(c)(3)(A), the state hourly minimum wage must be increased, effective January 1, 2023, to $15.50 an hour (regardless of the number of workers employed by an employer). However, the scheduled increases may be temporarily suspended by the Governor, based on certain determinations. 

Why would the California Minimum Wage increase be delayed?
The conditions for pausing a scheduled increase are as follows:

  • The Governor can pause an increase if the seasonally adjusted statewide job growth for either the prior three or six months is negative and retail sales receipts for the prior 12 months is negative.
  • Alternatively, the Governor can pause an increase if it is projected to cause a deficit (defined as a negative operating reserve of more than one percent of annual revenues [currently about $1.2 billion]) in the current state budget or in the budget forecast for either of the next two fiscal years.*
  • On August 1 of each year the Governor will make a preliminary determination on whether the conditions are met for pausing the following year’s increase.  A final determination must be made by September 1. 

Do I have to post the new minimum wage right now?
At the time of writing, employers are currently not yet required to post the new California Minimum Wage rate (for 2023) that is listed at $15.50; the California State Government website has not yet released the official notice. This is because the 2022 rate is valid from January 1, 2022 until December 31, 2022. The Minimum Wage Order (MW-2022) is still valid since the notice lists the minimum wage rates for 2022 and 2023.

Where do I find more information?
Information on the minimum wage can be found and accessed at the California State Government website: www.dir.ca.gov

Last Updated: November 28, 2022

CAL/OSHA update April 2021

The CAL/OSHA notice has been updated.

For the District Offices, the Long Beach location address and phone number have been changed. The Long Beach office is now located at 1500 Hughes Way and the phone number is now (424) 450-2630. This change applies to the Spanish version of the CAL/OSHA notice too. The date at the bottom right-hand corner of the notice has been updated to March 2021, previously October 2020.

California State & Federal Combination Standalone poster: https://www.allinoneposters.com/California-Federal-Combo-Poster
California Package (Includes the Combination poster and a mandatory IWC poster): https://www.allinoneposters.com/Labor-Law-Poster/California-Poster-Package

2021 California poster updates

There have been a number of changes to the California state postings since 2020. The 2021 minimum wage increased, and there are mandatory changes to the discrimination notice, pregnancy disability, unemployment insurance, family care and medical leave, and CAL OSHA. These changes apply to both the English and Spanish versions of the notices. This post details the exact changes on each notice.

The 2021 California poster has a total of 6 mandatory changes since the year began. This is the list of notices that have changed:

  1. California minimum wage posting
  2. California workplace discrimination and harassment posting
  3. California pregnancy disability posting
  4. California family care, medical leave, and pregnancy disability leave (CFRA) posting
  5. California unemployment insurance, disability insurance, and paid family leave posting
  6. CAL-OSHA posting
Continue reading “2021 California poster updates”

California July 2018 Labor Law Updates

With ever-changing labor law posting requirements, and with the constant addition of new local ordinances that also require posters, we understand the difficulty in keeping up with the trend. For your convenience, All In One Posters has dedicated a page on our website that lists some of the major additional required notices arranged by state. Some are available for purchase, but most are downloadable at no cost to you. Click on the link below for further details:

http://www.allinoneposters.com/Specific-City-and-Industry-Notices *

*Updated with the latest changes that will take effect July 1st 2018 for certain California localities.

2017 Form 300A Electronic Data Submission Requirement by July 1 2018 Now Applies in All States

Employers in 7 States Lose Exemption

The federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) recently announced that covered establishments in all states—including establishments in California, Maryland, Minnesota, South Carolina, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming—must electronically submit data from their 2017 OSHA Form 300A to OSHA by July 1, 2018. Previously, employers in those seven states were deemed exempt.

As a reminder, the following establishments—if currently required to comply with OSHA’s recordkeeping requirements—are required to electronically submit data from their 2017 Forms 300A to OSHA:

Click here to read the OSHA announcement. To submit your establishment’s data, click here.

Posted by HR360