Beware of Scam Targeting Small Businesses through Mailers and “Inspectors”

Inspector and Mailer Heading PhotoAll in One Poster Company, Inc would like to warn its customers as well as other small business owners to avoid mass mailer scams informing them that their labor law posters are outdated while pressuring them to purchase an overpriced product for their employee and business.

These mailers are false, misleading, deceptive and even threatening. As a part of this scam, business owners are demanded to pay varying amounts that range from $65 to $285 or face fines up to $17,000.

One mailer is marked with the company name “Corporate Compliance Services” and labeled “Labor Law Compliance Request Form.” Several businesses who receive these notices are just starting up and have yet to have any employees, and therefore are not required to post such information. Even when posting is required, the individual notices are provided at no charge by the U.S. Department of Labor as well as various agencies within your state’s labor department.Corporate Compliance Services Mailer

Another mailer comes from a “PCI – Customer Compliance Department” and is marked “Compliance Update 2016 (or current year) – URGENT”. Inside this mailer, an imposing phrase in bold letters says, “SUSPENSION OF COVERAGE” greets the unsuspecting reader. In a different strategy, this mailer actually offers similar posters at a much lower price of $10 for a non-laminated version and an extra $9.95 for lamination. Given that this mailer might get a much larger response due to pricing, the company comes back at the unsuspecting customer with an invoice that is well over $100, adding posters that they claim are also required. This company also makes constant phone calls to companies, whose information they most likely obtained through purchasing leads from the state. Please note that although this company uses “AIO Acquisition, Inc” as one of its several names, and calls its products as “Space Saver All-On-One Poster”, it is in no way affiliated with All In One Poster Company, Inc.Personnel Concepts Mailer2

Lastly, All in One Posters would like to warn against people posing as agents or “inspectors” who visit small businesses and threaten unknowing owners with fines and citations due to missing labor law posters, which they just so happen to be selling! Even if they show you a fake ID or citation sheet claiming they represent the “compliance department”, remember that real government inspectors DO NOT SELL POSTERS! Do not be fooled. Again, sole proprietors and business owners who have no employees, are not required to post labor law posters.

Related article: Choosing A Labor Law Poster Company: What Should I Look For?

Fake Inspectors2

36 thoughts on “Beware of Scam Targeting Small Businesses through Mailers and “Inspectors”

  1. Is there a way to report these scams? I rec’d one from Corporate Compliance Services and would not have known it was a scam unless I did some research! Feel bad for the small businesses who may not take the extra step to research and just pay the fee since the letter seems so threatening.

    Like

    • I also rec’d an “official” looking envelope from Austin, wanting $84 for a poster that the Federal government hands out for free. Thank God I did research and didn’t fall for b.s.!

      Like

    • Me too I received a notice. I am an author and the letter is asking me for $84 for my one employee. Im like huh the one employee is me. But I’ve been calling the number all day and it says all the customer service people are busy and hangs up. Thank goodness for your scam post or I wouldnt have known.

      Like

  2. Thank you for this information. I just incorporated a small LLC here in Texas. Within two weeks I received the “Labor Law Compliance Notice” indicating I needed to pay an $84.00 fee to get the required posters. I was ready to complete the form and send in the money when I decided to do a quick online search and found your site. Thanks again and keep up the good work.

    Like

  3. We recieved a letter from the labor law compliance requesting us to pay $84.00 and we (innocently) filled up with all of our information, and they keep on calling us asking to pay them the money, this is their telephone number;
    1-844-564-2211

    Like

  4. Pingback: Beware the Personnel Concepts Letter - Arizona Limited Liability Company Law

  5. Just received this same scam notice on 2/17/17 from Corporate Compliance Services for “Labor Law Compliance Request Form” demanding $84.00 for labor law poster. I am reporting this company to BBB. Govt needs to step in and shut these scammers down – sm biz take enough hits and don’t need threats like this when the little guys are just trying to stay afloat. Pls go after these criminals!

    Like

  6. I got the same thing in Charlotte NC. Make sure to read the letter very closely. At the bottom of the paper I got, I found a statement that reads,
    “Labor Compliance Department is a Non-Government publisher of copyrighted compliance poster compilations which are intended to assist employers in meeting their legal obligations under labor law posting regulations. If you are not 100% satisfied with this product, simply return it within 30 days for a full refund.”
    I am not sending them money to see if they will return it but before I checked into this letter, I thought, “crap, another fee for something.”
    It looks official so be careful.

    Like

  7. I reported this to the BBB today as I just opened a new small business and received an official governmental looking correspondence from LABOR COMPLIANCE DEPARTMENT. It stated the form was a LABOR LAW COMPLIANCE NOTICE.

    I immediately noticed that the outside envelope mailing indecia was PRESORT STANDARD (PRSRT STD U.S. POSTAGE) which I know is bulk advertising mail.

    I came online and found this page of people who have also been contacted by similar scams.

    Like

  8. I recently formed an LLC in Florida and soon after one of the partners received this deceptive mailer. Several things didn’t look right… quick turn-around required, no state agency seal, stamped presorted us postage, mailer not sent to the LLC principal and veiled threat if not responded to. I reported them to the Attorney General’s office and BBB and also returned the mailers in the stamped envelopes provided, letting them know I recognized the scam and that they had been reported. We also received a similar scam letter from Certificate Filing Service… I reported them too.

    One thing to note is that as we keep cutting funding to state regulators, their effectiveness to address these fraudsters diminishes. Not all regulations are bad.

    Like

  9. Same as everyone here, received one (now 1 day past due!) and the first thing I did was spend 5 minutes on the web, prior to calling an attorney friend!

    Like

  10. Same thing today. This is my second year in business. The first year I filled one out, not knowing for only having 1 employee, that i’m not required to pay for this. I was just got another one today for the 2nd year. Says it was sent on the 27th of Feb, from Austin Texas yet I live just 4 hours from Austin, and it took 18 days to get to me? Bulls*t! Not falling for this again!

    Thanks guys.

    Like

  11. The offending company is called Corporate Compliance Service. The owners is Thomas H Fred Jr of Pembroke Pines, FL. He uses a series of PO Boxes around the country to hide is identity. The FL Attorney General is looking into it. They stopped him in a similar scam in the past.

    Like

  12. Same here received a letter stating I needed to send in payment by 4/17/17 or I will be fined up to $17,000. I looked up Labor Compliance Department PO Box 100369 Ft Lauderdale, FL 33310-9972 and the PO Box was not found. Did more research and it looks like it’s a scam since the labor posters can be obtained for free.

    Like

  13. Thank you for this information. I received the letter from Corporate Compliance Services requesting $84 for the poster. I am an independent consultant – no employees. So I thought “why do I need this?” I kept calling the number on the form (for 2 weeks) and couldn’t get through to anyone – thank God – they probably would have told me I needed to mail it in if I had. I googled the firm name and came here. You saved me $84! Thank you!!

    Like

  14. i also got a $84 Fee in the mail, i decided not to pay it regardless, cuz i paid enough money to open my LLC, but now i see this article, it gets me mad, why the hell, doesnt anyone here, make sure these scammers get put into jail ??

    Like

  15. I am glad I checked with this site to find out it was a scam. Something didn’t feel right about it. I had thrown away the envelope and noticed later that the address is not on the notice. I have a home office of 1 manager (me). I don’t need this poster!!!

    Like

  16. Thanks for the detailed info! My small business received on the of “Labor Law Compliance Request Form” scam mailers today. It’s still going strong. I reported it to the Mail Fraud folks at USPS.

    Like

  17. Just received this today as well. Was about to blindly pay the fee but actually turned to searching online for the sole purpose of paying through their website to avoid the cc processing charge of $5. Thankfully I was able to realize this is a scam and NOW see the fine print at the bottom which states they’re not a government service. smh…

    Like

  18. Another tip….Any Government related laws/companies, in the USA, will always send an envelope with no postage needed. Clearly this company smells pretty bad and I urge you to report them. Looks like their main headquarter’s is in Florida.

    Like

  19. I also received the Labor Law Compliance Request Form. Tried calling the number posted 202-729-9969. Rings once and says call back later…thought something was up.
    Thank you all for posting.

    Like

  20. Pingback: U.S. Business Services Scam or Annual Minutes Scam – Wellrounded Investors

  21. Thank you thank you thank you … I had credit card in hand about to pay these guys until I saw your blog… Wow they almost got me there company was called laborposters.com you guys just saved me $84.00 Thanks again

    Like

  22. Good afternoon everyone,

    Just recieved a “Bill” from “Labor Posters Services” out of Austin, TX with a return mailing address of Ft Lauderdale, FL. They used very strong language stating that we need to pay $84.00 for our required posters or face a fine of up to $17,000. This is a SCAM.
    If you have no employees.. you are not required to post any such documents.. IF you do.. you can get any and ALL required posters for FREE from the federal government.
    In fact.. the back of their “letter” has a disclaimer that states that they are a non govt affiliated program and that we can indeed request any and all of the same panels offered by them for FREE from the govt. Be aware and ALWAYS do your due diligence before releasing monies to ANYONE.. no matter how professional or threatening the form may look…. have a great day all and stay safe. Striving for ” A Peaceful, Prosperous and Sustainable Legacy”.

    Like

  23. Got one today….What a scam… Whats really funny try calling the number its always busy
    these guys do need to go down…..The thing is, its right here in Houston Texas maybe I should hang out at the PO Box and see who shows up…. it’s also funny that there 202 number is in Washington D.C… which is also a LIE..

    Like

  24. Recieved at my business. Figured it was a scam.Here is their address if you can use it…
    PCI-COMPLIANCE DEPARTMENT
    PO BOX 3353
    SAN DIMAS, CA. 91773-7353

    Like

  25. I received in the mail yesterday a letter/bill from “Labor Compliance Department” and I would have paid this but I googled the info and I found this and I am very grateful I did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

